SHARK DIVE!!!

July 12, 2010 at 3:50 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )

So I’ve been on a few dives before, but now that I am scuba certified I decided to do a more adventurous dive on my recent trip to the Bahamas.  I went on a trip to “Shark Junction” near Freeport on the island of Grand Bahama.  I got to interact with a group of 10 – 15 reef sharks who have been fed a certain way for over 20 years.

The sharks were extremely docile and loved the attention that the feeder (in chain mail) gave them.  They would nuzzle up on his lap and as he would rub their noses, they would roll their eyes back and close them.  Once in this state of complete bliss, the feeder would hold the shark by the dorsal fin and bring it close to us so we could touch it.

This was an absolutely amazing experience and I still cannot believe I was lucky enough to have been there.

I’m looking forward to some more great dives in the future.

In the photos above, I am the guy with the bright orange\green snorkel and red trunks.

I posted just a few of the photos.  The rest are found here : http://www.flickr.com/photos/burgersmoke/sets/72157624321186253/

2 Comments

  1. Friday night Chow Truck and Art!!! « SLC Tacos said,

    […] I’ve been busy hanging with sharks […]

  2. REVIEW — Nick James and his homemade tacos « SLC Tacos said,

    […] and myself about what he was doing and how much longer we would have to wait.  We circled him like hungry sharks until he told us to grab our plates and started throwing freshly warmed tortillas onto […]

Leave a comment